Uncategorized

Help Me Explain

My sons are growing up really fast and i am scared they are getting to stage where they will ask all sort of questions. Now, questions about sex and boy and girl relationships are okey, i can find a way to answer them. My issue is question that revolve around gayism and lesbianism.

How, you may ask, well Read the conversation below.

(Conversation between my six year old and i)

Son: Mum, i want to apply what you are applying on your lips.

Mum: No son, this is for girls (He does not know the difference bewteen woman and girl. So we go with girls). Boys do not apply lipstick.

Son: mum i want to look pretty as you.

Mum: My son, you are a handsome young man. Girls are pretty, boys are handsome.

The conversation ends and i thank my stars that the conversation ended well.

A week later in a matatu.

Son: Mummy mummy you lied, you will go to hell.

Mum: (Shocked) what? When did i lie?

Son: You said lipstick is for girls, but that boy is applying lipstick on his lips.

Mum: I look behind and there is a guy behind us, with a mirror and he is applying lipstick and other make up.

(Ohh my, how do i explain this to my children)

Help me explain why grown men are wearing tight pencils trousers. That is not enough. We walk in town and alas there is a lady kissing her partner. My son shouts, mum why don’t you kiss auntie so and so.

Mothers and fathers help me explain this new phenomena in our society to my young boys. Help me explain why men are kissing men, why women and kissing fellow women.

Do not get me wrong, i am not judging any one. We have the freedom to do whatever we want, but as a mother honestly speaking that is not the path i would want my children to take.

Traditional love between a boy and a girl. What happened to opposite attract and what have you? How do i even start explaining all this to my boys.

Is it just me or are there other mothers and fathers who are finding this worrying?

We are so much into western traditions we forget what is actually just behind our locked doors. Our children are seeing young men in make-up and tight trousers, our children are seeing you ladies kissing young ladies. Where do we turn to?

Ohh how do i explain this. I still have not answered my child’s question of why i do not kiss (deep, affectionate) auntie so and so.

I still have not answered why that guy was applying make up.

I expected to get stuck on questions about boyfriend and girlfriend issues not on issues of men wearing makeup and girls kissing girls on the street. I am a sad mum.

Help me explain.

Njura Njeru

Leave a Reply

